Development of sales and marketing strategy

Sector: SAP consulting- and hosting services, German and U.S.A.

As many of the Oparium staff members have been at home in the SAP market since the end of the 1990s, Oparium boasts a wealth of expertise and knowledge under one roof.

At the start of the project, Oparium analysed the previous successful sales strategies, the factors that had led to a stagnation of orders and the sales methodology.

Using this analysis, Oparium identified the potentials for expansion in the respective key markets and customer segments and set out a clear vision for growth.

Once the client had approved the vision, Oparium restructured the sales team, introduced a new sales process, further developed daily tasks with the CRM system and outsourced telemarketing to an external service provider. Sales staff in the area of “value sellings” received on-the-job training and support in real-life sales situations.

Marketing was adapted to the new target customers and higher emphasis was placed on international customers. Targeted trade fair participation supported the telemarketing activities.

Revision of market positioning and the sales model

Section: Fashion, the Netherlands

In order to ensure its success was not just a ‘flash in the pan’, our client was looking for new distribution channels and answers to the question of how customer potential could be further unlocked while retaining the uniqueness of its products.

Oparium helped with the search and organisation of international indirect sales and enhanced the direct sales process. In parallel to this, Oparium managed the adjustment process, coming up with ideas of how the products could cater to a larger customer base and which changes this would lead to in the sales process.

Competition analysis and developing a sales strategy

Sector: Software products, Germany

Due to its extensive experience in the US market and active sales with US clients, Oparium analysed the US market in terms of competition, service portfolio, market opportunities and sales approaches.

The analysis results indicated how the portfolio would have to be complemented and extended to satisfy the needs of the US market and how high the expected potential sales volume might be. Besides the general technical conditions, the company’s marketing and the go-to-market positioning were examined and adapted to the US market.

The project finished with the instruction of the US sales team and subsequent coaching sessions in order to turn the revised go-to-market positioning into reality.

 

Digitization of software updates in the area of ​​industrial robots

Sector: Mechanical Engineering. Germany

The international customer supplies industrial robots for the semiconductor industry. The software for the control of industrial robots was replaced by a newer software version every 6 months. The development locations were Germany and the USA, the software images were manufactured in France, the packaging in Germany with subsequent worldwide shipping. The process was slow and prone to errors, especially since customer master data was often incorrect in the national companies. Long terms and high delivery rates led to high customer dissatisfaction.

Oparium optimized the original process by fetching software imaging to Germany. Furthermore, production and logistics routes as well as main sources of error were analyzed and changed. In addition, central data marts for customer master data and order data were created, the query surface was designed variably and fully electronic manufacturing processes with decentralized production and logistics processes were introduced. The challenge was to win 42 national companies for this project, to allow necessary access and additional work and to control the development of the data marts and ETL processes.

The measures proposed by Oparium reduced the time-to-customer from 3-5 months to 3 weeks and the error rate from over 30% to less than 1%. Ultimately, a 40% cost reduction was achieved.

Optimization of guarantee processing

Sector: Consumer Goods. Germany

The customer manufactures tools for DIY stores and specialist companies and sells them indirectly with a worldwide distribution network. The customer only maintains B2B relationships.

The original task was to optimize internal processes in the areas of purchasing, finance and IT in a cost-conscious manner. In detailed discussions, it was found out that costs for warranty claims had increased massively in recent years. It also turned out that there was no feedback on the causes of the warranty cases for product development. Development processes and the associated error / complaint management were also analyzed. The Oparium determined that there was no data on warranty cases (neither technically nor commercially), which is why the development process does not optimize the KVP and the product.

In close cooperation, a web interface was created with a database for registering the warranty cases, analysis tools for data were set up, reports on error susceptibility and for geographical customer analysis for targeted marketing were introduced. The aim was to convince the B2B partners to optimize warranty processing and to get the funds approved by the management.

With the support of Oparium, a return channel and thus transparency of the warranty cases could be created, the product development processes improved and costs in the area of ​​development and warranty reduced.

Cases

Mitbewerbsanalyse und Erstellung einer Vertriebsstrategie

Branche: Fashion. Niederlande

Oparium analysierte, mit langjähriger Erfahrung im Bereich des US Marktes und aktivem Vertrieb mit US Kunden, den Markt in den USA unter den Gesichtspunkten des Mitbewerbs, Leistungsportfolios, Marktchancen und Vertriebsansätze.

Die Analyseresultate zeigten auf, in welcher Form das Portfolio ergänzt und erweitert werden musste, um die Bedürfnisse des US Marktes zu bedienen und wie groß das zu erwartende gesteigerte Umsatzpotential sein sollte. Neben den technischen Rahmenbedingungen wurde das Marketing und die Go-to-Market Positionierung überprüft und an den dortigen Markt angepasst.

Zum Abschluss des Projektes fand eine Unterweisung des Vertriebs mit anschließendem Coaching statt, um die überarbeitete Go-to-Market Positionierung auch in die Realität umzusetzen.

Überarbeitung Marktpositionierung des Vertriebsmodells

Branche: Fashion. Niederlande

Um den Überraschungserfolg zu festigen, suchte unser Kunde neue Vertriebswege und Antworten auf die Frage, in welcher Form das Kundenpotential erweitert werden kann, ohne den Anspruch an die einzigartigen Produkte zu verlieren.

Oparium unterstütze weltweit bei der Suche und beim Aufbau des indirekten Vertriebs und verbesserte den direkten Vertriebsprozess. Parallel moderierte Oparium die Findungsprozesse und zeigte auf, wie Produkte auf eine größere Käuferschicht zugeschnitten werden können und in welcher Form sich der Vertriebsprozess hierdurch verändert.

Weiterentwicklung Vertriebs- und Marketingstrategie

Branche: SAP Consulting- und Hostingservices. Deutschland und USA

Da viele Mitarbeiter der Oparium seit Ende der 90-Jahre im SAP Markt zu Hause sind, wird einzigartiges Wissen unter einem Dach vereinigt.

Zu Beginn des Projektes analysierte Oparium die bisherigen Vertriebserfolge, aber auch die Faktoren, die zur Stagnation des Auftragseingangs führten, sowie die Vertriebsmethodik. Basierend auf der Analyse ermittelte Oparium Erweiterungspotentiale für Absatzmärkte, für Kundensegmente und erstellte eine klare Wachstumsvision.

Nach Verabschiedung der Vision durch unseren Kunden restrukturierten die Mitarbeiter der Oparium den Vertrieb, führten einen neuen Vertriebsprozess ein, entwickelten die tägliche Arbeit um das CRM System weiter und vergaben das Telemarketing an einen externen Dienstleister. Die Vertriebsmitarbeiter wurden im Bereich des “Value Sellings” on-the-Job trainiert und in realen Vertriebsfällen unterstützt. Das Marketing wurde an die neuen Zielkunden adaptiert und die Ansprache von internationalen Kunden fokussiert. Gezielte Messeauftritte unterstützten die Telemarketingaktivitäten.

Durch diese Maßnahmen konnte der Auftragseingang um 100% und die Neukundengewinnung um 65% gesteigert werden.

Digitalisierung der Softwareupdates im Bereich Industrieroboter

Branche: Maschinenbau. Deutschland

Der internationale Kunde liefert Industrieroboter für die Halbleiterindustrie. Die Software für die Steuerung von Industrierobotern wurde alle 6 Monate durch eine neuere Softwareversion ersetzt. Die Entwicklungsstandorte waren Deutschland und USA, die Herstellung der Software Images erfolgte in Frankreich, die Verpackung in Deutschland mit anschließendem weltweiten Versand. Der Prozess war langsam und fehleranfällig, insbesondere da Kundenstammdaten häufig in den Landesgesellschaften nicht korrekt waren. Lange Laufzeiten und hohe Fehllieferraten führten zu einer hohen Kundenunzufriedenheit.

Oparium optimierte den ursprünglichen Prozess, indem das Software Imaging nach Deutschland geholt wurde. Weiterhin wurden Produktions- und Logistikwege, sowie Hauptfehlerquellen analysiert und optimiert. Außerdem wurden zentrale Data Marts für Kundenstammdaten und Auftragsdaten geschaffen, die Abfrageoberfläche variabel gestaltet und vollelektronische Fertigungsprozesse mit dezentralen Produktions- und Logistikprozessen eingeführt. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, 42 Landesgesellschaften für dieses Projekt zu gewinnen, notwendige Zugriffe und Zuarbeiten zuzulassen und den Aufbau der Data Marts und ETL Prozesse zu steuern.

Durch die von Oparium vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen konnte die Time-to-Customer von 3-5 Monaten auf 3 Wochen sowie die Fehlerquote von über 30% auf unter 1% reduziert werden. Letztendlich konnte eine Kostreduktion um 40% erzielt werden.

Optimierung der Garantieabwicklung

Branche: Konsumgüter. Deutschland

Der Kunde stellt Werkzeuge für Heimwerkerbaumärkte und Fachbetriebe her und vertrieb diese indirekt mit einem weltweiten Distributionsnetz. Der Kunde unterhält nur B2B Beziehungen.

Die ursprüngliche Aufgabe bestand darin, interne Abläufe im Bereich Einkauf, Finanzen und IT kosten kostenbewusst zu optimieren. In Detailgesprächen wurde herausgearbeitet, dass Kosten für Garantiefälle in den letzten Jahren massiv gestiegen waren. Es stellte sich weiter heraus, dass es keine Rückkopplung von Ursachen der Garantiefälle zur Produktentwicklung gab. Außerdem wurden Entwicklungsprozesse und damit einhergehend das Fehler/Beschwerde- Management analysiert. Die Oparium stellte fest, dass es keine Daten über Garantiefälle gab (weder technisch noch kaufmännisch), weswegen der Entwicklungsprozess keine KVP- und Produktoptimierungen durchführen konnte.

In enger Zusammenarbeit wurde eine Weboberfläche mit Datenbank zur Registrierung der Garantiefälle geschaffen, Analysewerkzeuge für Daten aufgesetzt, Reports zur Fehleranfälligkeit und zur geographischen Kundenanalyse für gezieltes Marketing eingeführt. Dabei galt es, die B2B Partner zur Optimierung der Garantieabwicklung zu überzeugen und die Bewilligung der Mittel durch die Geschäftsführung durchzusetzen.

Durch die Unterstützung von Oparium konnte ein Rücklaufkanal und damit eine Transparenz der Garantiefälle geschaffen, die Produktentwicklungsprozesse verbessert und Kosten im Bereich Entwicklung und Garantie reduziert werden.

Referenzen